Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Edward B. Shallow Library: Databases for Research

Databases Defined

 

What is a database anyway?

 

 

Here's One Way to Look at It...

 

Top 10 Reasons to Use a Database (An infographic from Joyce Valenza and Brenda Boyer)

See below for databases you can use to do your research. 

Note:  you will not need a password to use these databases in school.  You will need a password to use them at home. 

Send an email to onesi@schools.nyc.gov to receive usernames and passwords.

For Kids

Vocations & Careers

History

Humanities: Art

Start Here First!

Keyword searching is like looking at an index in a book.

Subject searching is like looking at the Table of Contents.

Try searching both ways - you will get better results.

 

Be smart about the information you use!

Whenever you can, you should use databases for your school assignments instead of the open web. This is because in general, the articles in databases have already been evaluated for accuracy and authority.  Even so, before printing you need to examine your search results and answer the following questions:

  • Does this information meet my needs?
  • Can I understand the information when I read it?
  • Is the information current?  When was it published?
  • For controversial issues/topics, ask yourself:  What perspective does the author take?  What is the other perspective?  Is this information biased?  How?

 

TeachingBooks

General Databases: Newspapers & Magazines

Opposing Viewpoints

Encyclopedia Britannica (Instead of Wikipedia)

Science & Health

Psychology

Religion & Philosophy